Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs

Rating: ✪✪✪✪✪

Published:
March 8th 2016

Synopsis:
Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.
Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?

First Thoughts:
Oh, it is on NetGalley!

*presses request button*
*Gets approval email*
*serious happy book dance*
*downloads book*
*starts reading*

Review:
I was excited but dreading this book at the same time. I love my Mercy but I have a love/hate relationship with Coyote. Every time he appears, I know for sure I’m not going to like the book. But he’s usually important to Mercy on the long run, so I endure it. Anyway, previous book had two things I didn’t like: Coyote’s presence – the dream walk almost ruined the book for me – and Adam’s lack of reaction at his ex-wife interference and specially how strained the pack was.

So, I was wary when started the book. I should know better. Remember when I said that Alpha&Omega #4 was the best of the mercyverse? That is no longer true. Damn was this book good. I couldn’t put it down. It had me exclaiming “OMG” and “WHAT?!?” a few times. I had to re-read a few sections because I simply couldn’t believe on what I was reading.

I was never into politic games or power plays and they totally sucked me in. I was breathing werewolf laws & bonds.

It had me laughing out loud – good thing I was by my own, because anyone watching me whilst reading this book would call the car to the loony bin to pick me up.

The book made me melt inside. Made me cry. Made me lust for Adam, and that never happened before in 8 books. And specially, it had me struggling at the end not to read it all over again because it was too good to set down.

I even marked the release date on the calendar because I wanted to know what changed between the review edition and the official one.

Yep, this is Patricia Brigg’s world and I’m just visiting.

If you don’t know the series, please make yourself a favor and pick Moon Called up to read and start it. I know I want to.

I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Quotes:
“People who say that vampires don’t care about anyone except themselves are mostly right—but sometimes they are very and lethally wrong.”
Patricia Briggs, Fire Touched

“He was a better fighter than I was, but he wasn’t faster than me. Nor was he as motivated, and I think he underestimated me. He thought he was fighting a girl with a stick when he was fighting Adam’s mate, Coyote’s daughter, armed with Lugh’s staff.”
Patricia Briggs, Fire Touched

“Holy Avon, Batman, I thought as worry relaxed into annoyance-tinged humor, I’ve been attacked by a multilevel marketer.”
Patricia Briggs, Fire Touched

Leave a Reply

