Everyone’s read it but me!

While looking through my TBR I’ve realized the amount of books I have there that seems everybody else has read but me. Well, seeing how long some of them were added may be one of the reasons why, but mainly, I have me to blame for. Maybe it’s time I just stop stalling and
pick them up. Or maybe add some more to the pile *grins*

Anyway, here’s the shocking list:

  • The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson – I kept changing my mind between reading the Portuguese edition or the English edition since both were translations, till one day I was at one of those coffee & bookshop stores – I would love to have one of those one day – and noticed the line “translated from the English edition”. Decision made. Now I just need to pick them up.
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – I don’t like robots. Nor am I that big fan of sci-fi books. Plus, I had a few bad experiences with re-tellings that made me ware of them. So why is this on my list still? Because everybody I know that has similar reading tastes loves it. One of my dearest friends started Cinder because of a team reading challenge we were at the time, and binge read them all in a row.
  • The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth – I’m a sucker for a pretty cover, and Divergent’s British edition is gorgeous. I was visiting a book fair when I saw book one and *had* to buy it. Even if my book budget was already busted for the month. Then I decided to wait to have all three before reading. After a long wait for Allegiant, I almost gave up on the series because the book was the wrong size. What was wrong with those people… the book had at least 2 cm taller than the others! Well the shame was on me because this past December I had to swallow all my rant words, since there was nothing wrong with the publisher, I was the one that bought the smaller edition, you know, the one that is released the next year. Le sigh.
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – I was planning on read it when it won BOM for NBRC. I didn’t. My co-workers/friends at my former project gave it to me as a farewell present – some tears were shed and all – and I have it with me since then.
  • Newsflesh series by Mira Grant – this one is not on my TBR. However, I’m torn to put it there or not. On one side, zombies, yuck. And not the right type of zombies. Animated corpses driven by necromancers or voodoo magic that return to dead state as soon as they do the dark wizzard’s bidding – right type. Zombies that are rotten pieces I-want-to-eat-your-face-off, those are definitely not the right kind of zombies. Zombies like the white trash zombie series or the I Zombie series that still need brains to survive but are functional & thinking beings – I still don’t know what to make of them, but I can deal with them. So yeah, I’m divided. Because I read the novella and loved the writing style and the way the story evolved. Time will tell.

   2429135 11235712 DIVERGENT_B_Format_UK.indd 8442457 7094569

Leave a Reply

