Short & Sweet: Out of Bounds by A.R. Barley

Out of BoundsOut of Bounds by A.R. Barley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh Nick how much I love thee!

I enjoyed this book so much that I even downloaded the kindle app to my phone so I can sneak read it during work. Yes, it may be wrong, but I just couldn’t stop reading it. It was that hard to put down. I fell in love with Nick & Jesse. I want me some Nick in my life. And then I wanted to chew Nick’s head off.. just for a bit. Then, when my vision started to get blurry and tears threatened to spill, it ended with a smile and a “aaawwwww”.

Okay, now for the proper review.

Most of romance books – specially the new adult types – follow the formula: couple meets – attraction builds and is fought – relationship starts – big drama/fight/broke up – HEA

Doing something new, is not an easy task. At least not these days. The greatest challenge and therefore achievement IMO, is when an author follows the formula, and make it unique. Make it work. Characters don’t have to be perfect, they need to be good. Connectable. The story doesn’t need to be perfect, it needs to engage the reader.

What I like in this book? Everything. The attention to little details. The tape marking the boundaries may sound ridiculous, but it isn’t. Actually, is amazing how such a small thing can be exactly what someone needs to feel safe. It is real. And thoughtful. This book doesn’t have big gestures. It has little ones that make all the difference.

The way Jesse shyes from human contact and slowly starts building up his inner strentgh again. All Nick’s protection feelings towards Jesse. Their connection felt real.

And how don’t care how some people think the “out of bounds” expression was repetitive, I liked that little tidbit A LOT.

I think I have a new author on my keep-an-eye-for list. Time to add book #2 (and #3) to my TBR.

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange of an honest review

Leave a Reply

