Book Reading Resolutions

Last years were a mess. A totally mess. In all aspects. From reading habits to real life, a lot happened:

  • I changed career and started over at 39.
  • I started moderating not one, nor two, but three goodreads discussion groups.
  • I binge read a couple of book genres till exhaustion.
  • I’ve obsessed over book series and re-read same books for months.
  • I joined fast team challenges one after the another till burning out my reading mood.
  • I started and put down countless books, for reasons that I can’t remember anymore, with intentions of coming back and never did – I have 20 on my goodreads list, but I’m pretty sure if I take some time reviewing all books on my shelves this number will grow to some unspeakable value.
  • And so on.

Last month, I started struggling with a few things – well, a lot, but that’s another story – I guess it was bound to happen, with so many unbalanced things happening around me the feeling of losing control was driving me crazy. So, my personal goal at the moment is to find me some balance. Keep doing the things I love doing, do the things I have to do even if I don’t like them, and change things that can be changed, one baby step at a time.

For example, I like being headache free. Who wouldn’t, right? And, for the moment, the easiest way to get it, is doing some knitting projects. I like doing them. They are either cute or usable or both, it is cheaper than medical bills, and it gives me inner peace – according to some articles, knitting has the same effect to the brain & body than meditation. The price to pay? I can’t knit and hold a book/eReader at the same time. The compromise? Either balancing time or chose an audioversion and do both. And guess what? It’s working.

Same for books. I don’t have to read what I don’t want to. Heck, I have enough to read books on my list to keep me busy for the next 5 or 10 years. I also don’t have to read 200 books a year – not that I ever did it – but I would prefer being able to read more than 200 pages a month because I’ve exhausted myself.

So, after some thinking, and talking, and yes, compromising, the plan is that every month I’ll be able to read

  1. A book picked by Steven – only fair, since I keep ordering him what to read.
  2. A NBRC book of the month – we have four different genres, so I may see something that strikes my fancy
  3. A book from the trunk – aka, added to my TBR so long ago that is covered in dust and spider webs
  4. A NetGalley (or provided by the Author/Publisher to review) book – for now, it may be a little more, since I have a bit of backlog
  5. An unfinished business book – for someone that hates not finishing a book, is amazing how many of them I have in this situation.

That’s 5 books. Only 5 books a month. Usually I read between 8 to 12 a month. Sounds doable, right? I still have plenty of room to read new releases, and to binge read series I can’t stop reading, or obsessively re-reading the ones I can’t let go. Who knows, maybe one of those 5 turns into a new favorite.

 

Leave a Reply

