Clean Sweep ARC Challenge: Badge, Book, and Candle by Max Gladstone

25873887

One of these days I will learn how to look at a book synopsis and actually READ it.

The day I request this book, was not that day. Otherwise I would notice it was the first of a 16-part serial. And maybe I wouldn’t request it, since I cannot follow serials. I’m a wait-for-the-whole-book-to-be-out kind of girl.

So, why am I not sorry I did? A few reasons:

  • It was good. It was darn good. Pure urban fantasy, with lots of elements and solid characters. And a good plot to boot.
  • It was believable. Usually in books when a blissful paranormal ignorant stumbles with that part of the world, she or he is totally accepted, and info is shared and whatnot. Which is ridiculous. I’m a paranormal reader and if somehow I start seeing people with pointy teeth, one I’ll be running like hell and two, I’ll be thinking I was crazy, somehow I must be dreaming or any other form of rationalization. So yeah, that part was achieved.
  • It reminds me a little of Frank Miller. Better yet, the movies inspired by Frank Miller’s work. It has this Sin City narrative feeling.
  • The ending. Not exactly a cliffhanger, not exactly a resolution. A good starting point to make us continue with the serial.
  • And finally, since it was released back in 2015, all 16 parts are already out, so I can read it as a full book.

The only con for me? The writing style. I prefer a simpler writing. No need for a dozen words to say that it was a cloudy and rainy day. But, that’s a matter of taste. For most Portuguese readers, that will be a plus, since our authors tend to have that kind of speech. And I’m planning on recommend it to some of them.

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange of an honest review

Read as part of the Clean Sweep ARC Challenge hosted by Kimberly @Caffeinated Book Reviewer and Kristin @ Addicted to Happily Ever After

Leave a Reply

