Top Ten Tuesday #2: Beach Reads Week

It’s that time of the year again! You know, when days are bright and sunny, blue skies and Spring threatens to turn into Summer, which makes us dreaming about walks on the beach, lounging by the pool, vacation time and books! Lots and lots of books! With reading time to boot!

I’m starting earlier, since I took the week off – yep, that’s right, there are more uses for the excuse of piling up years than to have cake and blow candles after all. Well, I’m not lounging by the pool because Spring is still too damn cold, but I’m planning on some walks by the nature and books. And who knows, maybe a walk in the beach, I can take a blanket and a book with me, it’ll be nice.

This week is Beach Reads Week at Top Ten Tuesday. So, which books are lucky enough to be on a beach day with me? Anything I can get my hands on it, essentially. And why? Because  there are two formats allowed – audiobooks or paperbacks. And the first is there only because I do take my phone with me, otherwise, it would be a paperback club. Too much sand to get into strange places to risk my precious gadgets.

Anyway, formats aside, I do prefer my beach/vacation/leisure books to be light, and funny – those that make you laugh so hard that the family sitting near your towel stops bickering and stares at you for a long long time – and with some touch of romance, because what is Summer without some romance, right?

I can Fly
Photo taken by yours truly at Loro Parque on Tenerife Island

1. Wallbanger by Alice Clayton – Simon aka Wallbanger and Caroline aka Nightie Girl and their crazy entourage are a premium ticket for a great reading at the beach. Honestly, I’ll play Simon says everywhere. Because Simon is… Simon! Wallbanger extraordinaire. Seriously. The guy causes the headboard to bang into the wall. And also some I mean a lot of  Simon! Oh Simon! That is so Good! And let’s not forget Clyde, the cat. He’s as good as the main characters. Sadly, book #2 is not as good. Yes, Simon is still hot. Caroline is still crazy. Clyde is still the star of the show. But is just an average read. Not as brilliant as Wallbanger. Nevertheless,  Screwdrivered (book #3) and the rest of the Cocktail series (no longer with Simon and Caroline as the main couple) are on my list and ready to go for a ride.

2. Fire Me Up (Aisling Grey #2)  by Katie MacAlister – Or any of the Aisling Grey series. Actually, anything Katie MacAlister is an awesome beach read. She ranges from fluff and funny Urban Fantasy, to fluff and funny PNR, Contemporary Chick-lit and even some Regency Romance. She also dives into Young Adult books, writing as Katie Maxwell. All belonging to the perfect beach reads package. Oh, and the The audio narrator for Aisling or any of the dragon books – did I mention that Aisling also has dragon shifters? – is absolutely perfect. Seriously, she’s better than James Marsters for Dresden.

3. Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs (Jane Jameson, #1) by Molly Harper – Chick-lit Urban Fantasy. Some really fun moments. Jane has a knack for getting into trouble. Turned into a vampire, with a ghost aunt, a human best-friend, a bat-shit crazy family, and oh, right, an infuriating vampire master.

4. Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella – On a terrifying flight home, Emma Corrigan ends up spilling all her secrets to the stranger man sitting next to her on the plane. Everybody babbles when life is at stake right? And is not like they will ever meet again, right? Want to cause the lady next to you start dripping sunscreen on the sand instead of rubbing little Tommy because she’s too busy staring at you laughing like a deranged woman? Then this is the book to pick.

13043610_1153067924717487_8953093870701631914_n

5. Bad Karma by David Safier – Imagine that in the most important day of your life – or so you think – it looks like the Universe is conspiring against you. Everything that can go wrong, goes. And then you die. Too bad you did nothing but accumulate bad karma during your entire life, which means you need to re-start the reincarnating cycle till you have good karma enough to move on to a better place. That was exactly what happened to Kim, on the day she would get an important television award, she just dies and return as.. an ant. A tiny, annoying and breakable ant.This book is really funny and has some important lessons to learn. Good for a day at the beach. The German author just released a second book into the series (in the photo) with another set of characters, and I’m dyyyying to get my hands on it.

6. Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, #1) by Joanne Fluke – Cozy Mystery with cookies! And it has recipes! Well, some editions do. And it has funny moments. And cookies! Yes, I mentioned that already, but seriously, cookies!

7. The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen – Or any Sarah Addison Allen book really. They are magical! And I don’t mean paranormal or fantasy, no, I mean that feeling like Christmas in July, or unwrapping a present or the spontaneous hug of a child. It’s like being wrapped up on a fluffy and warm blanket. It gives us a zen feeling and pairing that with sun and sand and the sea? Magical.

8. Sixty Five Hours by N.R. Walker – One of the funniest, mm-romances I ever read. My first (but definitely not the last) N.R. Walker, aaaaaand it’s a free one on top of it.Loved it! Perfect for a beach time. And you can even blame the sun for some blushing and sudden need for cooling off.

Books that look like beach reads, I think they’re beach reads, but I’m not sure because I haven’t read them…yet!

9. One for the Money by Janet Evanovich – One of these days I will read Stephanie Plum. Maybe I’ll find out what the fuss is all about.

10. Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye by Victoria Laurie – Some of my goodreads friends swear by it. Maybe this summer I can finally meet Abby.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #2: Beach Reads Week

Leave a Reply

