Blood of the Earth by Faith Hunter

24452922Rating: ✪✪✪✪✪

Book Info:
352 pages
Expected publication: August 2nd 2016 by Roc
Available on paperback and kindle

Genres: Urban Fantasy


Source: I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Set in the same world as the New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, an all-new series starring Nell Ingram, who wields powers as old as the earth.

When Nell Ingram met skinwalker Jane Yellowrock, she was almost alone in the world, exiled by both choice and fear from the cult she was raised in, defending herself with the magic she drew from her deep connection to the forest that surrounds her.

Now, Jane has referred Nell to PsyLED, a Homeland Security agency policing paranormals, and agent Rick LaFleur has shown up at Nell’s doorstep. His appearance forces her out of her isolated life into an investigation that leads to the vampire Blood Master of Nashville.

Nell has a team—and a mission. But to find the Master’s kidnapped vassal, Nell and the PsyLED team will be forced to go deep into the heart of the very cult Nell fears, infiltrating the cult and a humans-only terrorist group before time runs out…

fallow-deer-984576_960_720

So much to say about this book. But first things first. When I saw the book was at NetGalley, I only saw Faith Hunter and New Series before hitting the request button. Only AFTER being approved did I realized that 1)It was a spin-off and 2)There was a character development I would miss and being spoiled about if I read it before being up to date.

Sadly, I only managed to read Skinwalker before diving in into this one – yep, Steven is still disappointed with me – but, I must confess that after three or four pages all my guilty thoughts vanished. Why?

Because I TOTALLY LOVED THE BOOK. Omigosh Nell is such a great character. She has layers and layers, and is the living proof that we CAN LEARN THINGS BY READING FICTION BOOKS.

The support cast is also great. I loved how different they where and how well they mesh together. Even Rick. I don’t know how his story developed to make him how he is  (and now I’m dyyying to know more) but his distance and distrust felt real and I totally ate everything the author sent my way.

Plus it has a cult. And someone breaking free of it. We don’t have those around here in Portugal – at least to my knowledge – and I’m always sucked in by those stories. Not the cult mentality, that is a cultural shock I can’t see past it, but, what does it take to brainwash people to accept that kind of mentality.

My favorite thing on the book? Nell’s magic. If my childhood wishes of being a witch came through I’d be something like Nell. Earth Magic Rocks. And it has darkness too and it craves blood and it can turn alive. Seriously, a vampire tree? All kinds of awesome.

There isn’t a single negative thing I can thing about this book. It was borderline perfect. The villains are complex and twisted and the story revolves in a way that keeps the reader unable to set it down till the very end.

I always complain about how Sookie’s tasks were depicted on her books but Nell’s are refreshing, not over the top and have always little details we enjoy learning. And  her sense of humor rocks. Her catnip use is even better than Kate Daniel’s and that’s something I never thought I’d be saying.

In a nutshell: I LOVED IT! It has layers and layers and delicious moments. It has sass. It has funny moments. It has surprises. It even has a hint of a love interest. Sweet and deserved. And I want the next one like no tomorrow.

 

One thought on “Blood of the Earth by Faith Hunter

  1. Pingback: Curse on the Land by Faith Hunter | The Book Wielding Harpie

Leave a Reply

