Harpie’s Halloweenish Fears

Growing up on a no-Halloween-celebration country always made me a little sad this time of the year. Sure, we have Carnival, where we dress up, and do pranks and have parades… but it’s not the same thing. There’s something about Halloween that Carnival lacks. Maybe it’s the candy or the Trick or Treating… who knows.

The past years we started to borrow Halloween.. now we have the parties, and candy – trick or treat is not yet truly established, but, for us, costumes are… scary… or gross… or gruesome… or any of the previous ones. No naughty nuns unless they are splattered with blood, bitten by vampires or the zombie variety.

halloween-970134_960_720

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme by the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Halloween related freebie“:ten scary books, favorite horror novels, non-scary books to get you in the Halloween/fall mood, bookish halloween costumes, scariest covers), scary books on my TBR, etc.

My favorite genre is Urban Fantasy. When I was a kid I wanted to be a witch – courtesy of TV Shows and movies and books. So, Werewolves, Vampires, Necromancers, Witches… we have plenty of those on my TBR.

However, there are a few things that still give me the creeps and I shy away from them. Gothic horror, zombies, crawly bugs (or bugs that crawl inside our skin), hard core vampire books were people get torn into pieces – yes Stephen King, I’m looking at you and your short stories – psychological thrillers involving children and evil ghosts/spirits dripping blood and with hunger for human flesh. I think I can add more to the list, but those are the main ones.

So, for TTT, I present you, scary books that somehow made into my list:

Nightmares and Dreamscapes (I & II) by Stephen King: This duology one makes top of my list. I read it 15 years ago and I still have nightmares with some of the short stories. The man is a master writer. His imagination reaches sky high. And, I also swore off his books forever. I don’t care about the context they were read or that I was still easily scared at the time. Stephen King movie adaptations? I’m game – providing lights are on and I can watch some silly cartoons after. Books? No thanks.

Feed by Mira Grant: A zombie book, First on a trilogy that goes in and out of my TBR for the past years – Basically since I joined goodreads – I read one of the prequels and loved the writing style. And the disease spreading. And it’s about bloggers, so I have to read it, right? Too bad it has zombies.

The Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish: Another zombie book, but this time, from the right kind of zombies. You know, those who are risen by necromancers or voodoo practitioners. The original ones. The real ones. The ones I shall read without regret.

nna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake: Dripping blood murdering ghosts… check! Scary setting, check! So why is this one on my possible reading list? Because everybody read it but me and loved it! So maybe some day I’ll read it and love it too.

Parasite by Mira GrantPills that cure everything that are basically a worm you swallow and start turning you into a host without will. Yep, a lot of boxes ticked. But It’s Mira Grant aka Seanan Macguire and she’s all kinds of awesome.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black: Why is a Holly Black on the scary list you may ask? Easy peasy. I started it when it was a NBRC BOM. Life got in the way, even if the book was hooking me. However, the scene where the main character wakes up at the party and the escaping scene? It had me on the edge of my seat. It was nerve breaking. Plus I’m slightly claustrophobic so it rang true to the core

Grim (anthology): Grab an assortment of popular YA authors like Julie Kagawa or Rachel Hawkins and have them write a dark and sinister twist to classic fairy tales. Just looking at the gorgeous cover you have that Gothic Horror feeling…

The Boy Who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke: A mental illness psychological thriller featuring a 10 year old boy. Is Alex really schizophrenic or can he really see demons? I’ll figure it out if I ever get the courage to read it.

moon-703538_960_720

The Harpie Wants To Know

Do you have Halloween no-nos?
Hidden Fears?
What’s your TTT?

7 thoughts on “Harpie’s Halloweenish Fears

    • IT is the book that I’m morbidly curious about. Because I’m tempted to read it, and at the same time I know I’ll regret reading it forever. Seriously, just looking at a Pennywise picture give us the creeps. Reading it must be totally insane!!!!

      Like

  1. Feed is on my list too. I really need to read this series soon.

    Truck or treating is so fun as a child. Too bad you did not get to experience this. At least wearing costumes is fun!

    Like

  2. Oh I want to read Feed at some point!! I really like zombie novels and I’ve hardly read any of them. THE SHAME.😂 I DNF’d Anna Dressed in Blood though because I thought it was ripping off the TV show Supernatural and I’m super protective of it. hehe. I’ve also heard the Dead House is really good and I want to try it…someday.😂

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

