Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews

17333174

Rating: ✪✪✪✪✪

Book Info:
328 pages
Published September 20th 2016 by Ace
Available on hardcover, paperback, kindle, ebook and audio

Genres: Urban Fantasy

Source: I received a free ARC from the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

Mercenary Kate Daniels knows all too well that magic in post-Shift Atlanta is a dangerous business. But nothing she’s faced could have prepared her for this…

Kate and the former Beast Lord Curran Lennart are finally making their relationship official. But there are some steep obstacles standing in the way of their walk to the altar…

Kate’s father, Roland, has kidnapped the demigod Saiman and is slowly bleeding him dry in his never-ending bid for power. A Witch Oracle has predicted that if Kate marries the man she loves, Atlanta will burn and she will lose him forever. And the only person Kate can ask for help is long dead.

The odds are impossible. The future is grim. But Kate Daniels has never been one to play by the rules…

dsc_0003_edited

Yes, it has been more than a month since I read it. No, I haven’t re-read it again. So why am I so late? BECAUSE I’M STALLING. BECAUSE IT’S HARD TO REVIEW. BECAUSE IT’S BITTERSWEET.

And also, because for a great part of the book I was convinced that, for the first time, I was going to hate a Kate Daniels story. It had a dejá vù feeling. It reminded me a lot of the conflicts I had reading Magic Rises – yes, the infamous book where we see Curran “flirting” with some bimbo shapeshifter, Kate having doubts and facing Hugh and last but not the least, we loose Aunt B forever. So yeah, I was scared.

Of course Ilona and Gordon are all kinds of awesome, which means by the end of the book they showed me that the parts I hated, the ones I had doubts, the ones that made me cry and curse all authors in existence because of all the feelings, made perfectly sense.. better yet.. THEY WERE NECESSARY.

Want some proof of the authors brilliance?

1. The impossible choice – they don’t make you chose between the love of your life and your unborn child… no, that would be too easy. No. They make you experience the choice. They made you live and feel and watch them die and fill you with pain and sorrow and despair and powerless to avoid the outcome that you end up in a heap on the floor reeling from the experience while the world resets near you back to normal but the loss remains. And whatever the outcome, you still get to see your life, your loved ones, your city, crumble and burn.

2. The Dark Side – Yes, Roland is evil and has no moral. Immortal beings usually are. But, is it only him or is his magic? All his children end up being like him… why not Kate? Well… easy, because she basically avoided to use her magic to stay away from drawing attention… when she starts to use it… well.. let’s say is not pretty. Let’s say that sweet Anakin turning into Darth Vader is easier to watch. Heck, if Luke had succumbed to the emperor’s charm I’d be less surprised. And hurt. Seriously, Kate turning dark? Every time she used her powers had me saying no no no no no…

3. The Plot – IT WAS GLORIOUS. The twists. The battle. The making me hate one of my favorite side characters. The reasons why Kate made the choices. Julie. Derek. Mahon. THOSE THREE WERE FREAKING AWESOME.

4. The Line Not to Cross – Omigosh… that line and the way she was always so close that we could feel it and the consequences… *inner fan dying breath*

5. Christopher and Barabas – It’s curious.. I never trusted Christopher. Maybe because his rescue seemed like planting a bad seed on Kate and Curran’s future. And he was always so frail. His story is finally discovered and I am in such awe of him and so deeply ashamed of doubting him. They are now one of my favorite pairs of the series and I really really really want their HEA. And maybe some novella *hint hint*

6. The humorous moments – Gotta love the sassyness and the sarcasm and Roman. Roman was a delicious addition to the book. Seriously, having the priest of the god of evil as a wedding planner? Who thinks of those things.

There is much more to say. Roland, Curran, and a few things that annoy me. But, I’m leaving those for another post. I’m rereading the series, so I’ll definitely be back to this one.

In the end, it may not be the easier one to read. It also may not be my favorite to go. But, it is, hands down, THE BEST BOOK IN THE SERIES.

Leave a Reply

