On The Harpie’s Nest #1: I’m Baaaaaack!

December is a weird month on tiny Portugal. And not just because the whole country seems to get nuts during Christmas time. For starters, and since we finally got our holidays back, it’s a month full of holidays. Then, it’s the Christmas parties, and dinners and whatnots, plus the end of the first period of classes. Which allows for either to be awful busy at times, or pretty let go at others. I also added a week off on the mix, because I was in dire need of rest.

Anyway, so, what did December bring to the Harpie’s Nest? Sit comfortable because I’m going to share it all… Ermmm… I mean… the shareable parts… nobody wants to know about my poor ordering skills that cause for books to be misplaced or the failed attempts on the kitchen.

Last Book Arrival

capturess

And I mean arrival, not order, because this one was supposed to arrive in time for November’s BOMs. However, due to the mentioned poor ordering skills it didn’t. It’s all good now, and my pretty is finally home, and I even got a pretty Christmas themed picture for #bookstagram.

Christmas Treats

dsc_0112

The main reason of the week off – apart from me being exhausted – was to be able to attend to my little niece’s kindergarten Christmas party. Which implies we have to cook/bake/bring some delicious treats for the after-party gathering. This year, luck decided we were to bring “sonhos de natal” (Christmas Dreams) – they’re some fluffy clouds of fried batter sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon that just melt in the mouth when we take a bite.

Back to Reading

bk_decem

I am finally and officially out of my reading slump! This month I’ve read 4 short stories, 4 full novels and I’m well into the 5th. It’s so good to be back. I really, really missed it. I even have a new book obsession – the Incryptid series by Seanan McGuire. Only thing bad about it is that I’m all ready to start book #4 and there are only 5 published. Good thing that it has a TON of short stories to keep me from drowning in despair while I wait for new book to be out.

Coloring

What to do when you want to do some anti-stress coloring and noisy family is all around you? You get one of your Most Wanted in audio format plug in your earphones, grab your pencils and the world just. stops. #bestideaever.

It all started with my summer book order. Bookdepository sent an assortment of to color bookmarks. From that to checking adult coloring books and youtube tutorials and some unhealthy addiction to coloring pencils was a quick step. And it got me back to reading, so it’s a two for the price of one. Four, if we consider that I’m using the audios to listen whilst I’ll knit the last minute Christmas presents, which in turn shuts down the part of the brain that is constantly under stress which also causes my customary headaches to vanish.

The Harpie Wants to Know

What are you up to?
Latest book news, new hobbies, unshareable secrets we are dying to know!

4 thoughts on “On The Harpie’s Nest #1: I’m Baaaaaack!

    • They seem to be quite popular and have great reviews.

      Also, what the author said about the book wants me try it even more:

      “Sin City PLUS Romeo and Juliet MINUS romance PLUS monsters.
      This is the strangest book I’ve ever written. I love it”

      Like

Leave a Reply

