Top Ten Tuesday #14: Weird reinvents by authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme by the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Readand I basically am going to interpret it a bit too freely and discuss WEIRD REINVENTS BY AUTHORS

feather

1. Sparkling Vampires

Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer

Vampires that walk in the sun are… rare.. but not unheard of. Bran Stoker’s Dracula was said to be able to be out during light time, although weaker. Also, Louie from Interview with the Vampire fed from animals to avoid losing his humanity. Now, Stephanie Meyer decided that combining the two wasn’t enough. Nope, she made them go into the sun, feed from animal blood, and then took their fangs out (word emasculate comes to mind) plus the worse insult of all: made them sparkle like diamonds in the sun. Why? How? I just…. have no words. It makes no sense to me… however… It helped the book. Because those who weren’t caught in the twilight fandom were bash trashing it… and one of the reasons was the sparkling skin.

feather

2. Zombie Reversing

Warm Bodies by saac Marion

I’m going to be completely biased here. First, I don’t like zombies, they creep me out. Unless they’re the voodoo kind, controlled by a necromancer or witch. And second, I DNFed Warm Bodies.  But I couldn’t.. it didn’t make any sense. I had to let it go. Okay, so… eating brains works on the I Zombie TV show or in the White Trash novels as a holy cure. In the Revivalist series, she had to take some shots, otherwise she would start to rot and liquefy… but in Warm Bodies… it was so… weird… because it wasn’t eating brains.. it was THAT particular brain… and it was contagious? The part that makes me sad is that I was enjoying the book, with the strange zombie base, and the marriage, and the zombie kids and school…. but then we had dry humping zombie sex and a human girl hiding in plain zombieland and then a brain that refuses to let go, so the zombie that ate it has weird memories and starts looking… less dead…. It was just too much for me.

feather

3. Lucrezia Borgia as Evil Queen

Mirror Mirror by Gregory Maguire

Nobody can accuse Gregory Maguire of lack of imagination. No sir. Think with me: Lucrezia Borgia as Snow White’s stepmom/guardian.. should I repeat? Yeah, probably not. Having it said once was too much already. BUT, if you think that is the weird thing we have on that book… think again. We have Snow White’s dad going into a holy graalish quest, the dwarfs are a mix between rocks/dogs/living beings that are hard to understand, and Snow White has to be taken away because Lucrezia’s brother was having a special interest for the child. Yes, child, she was TEN… I think. Maybe younger. And then she turns into sleeping beauty, because when she finds the dwarfs she falls into a sleep that makes them turn back into rock and mute life around them till she wakes up. I kid you not, this one gets the cup of Weird Reinvent.

feather

4. Zeus Talking Like a Teenager

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

Well, the concept is interesting. It really is. The whole book is about the greek myths told by Percy Jackson. But the teen speech Is. Just. Overwhelming. First you may think is refreshing and new… after 100 pages you want to bash Percy’s head against a column till he starts talking like a normal person. Not to mention he messes with one of my favorite myths of all time. But again, I may be a little biased because the first Percy movie already had a go at it (And I will never forgive them… how dare they to make Hades look like a wimp and turn Persephone into a male eater?)

feather

5. Bi Curious Marines

Sidewinder Series by Abigail Roux

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love me some GFY novel, with lots of doubts and It can be rights, because angsty feelings and awesome banter and teaser. And I love my Cut&Run boys to pieces. But somehow, the spin-off doesn’t work as well as the original sounds. Maybe because we never saw the bi-curious side of Kelly… and so the easiness he goes into a catcher role without being a pitcher first… it sounds a bit… forced. I still buy them and devour them, of course… it’s Abi Roux.

feather

Of course, there are some crazy ideas that work. And they work perfectly. For example:

 

6. Is Not Killing If Life Doesn’t End

Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman

Neil Shusterman gives us a chilling and amazing story, that has as starting point the consequences of the second civil rights war. Abortion is a crime, and life is untouchable from the conception till the age of 13. Then, all bets are off and teenagers can be set to be unwound: the harvest of all organs and cells to be transplanted to those in need of donors… which technically means life never ens, hence no crime. The whole concept… the character’s mindset, the worlbuilding… as I said.. chilling and amazing. Not for everybody, though.

feather

7. Marilyn Monroe and Katrina

Jane Yellowrock by Faith Hunter

Vampires, Shapeshifters, Witches and more in this amazing Urban Fantasy series. Vampires come out of their coffin when Marilyn Monroe was staked on the oval room when caught trying to turn JFK. Witches are victims of prejudice since popular belief think that Katrina was either their fault, or the result of their failure. Those are just some samples of Faith Hunter popular series, and if you are an urban fantasy fan, make yourself a favor and pick it up. I know I have Steven to thank to make me read it, because those books are great!

feather

The Harpie Wants To Know

Any weird reinvents I should have here?
What’s your TTT?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #14: Weird reinvents by authors

  1. Aww, so sad you didn’t like Percy Jackson. I didn’t find it to be like teen speech?? More just like average speech hahha.😂 I never finished Twilight so I didn’t actually get to the sparkling part but that always makes me giggle.😂 BUT HEY IF THEY WANT TO BE GLITTERY VAMPIRES, THEN LIVE THEIR DREAMS, I SAY.

    And omgggg I will never get over Unwind. That book was so amazing and terrifying and haunting.

    Like

    • Percy Jackson’s series isn’t teen speech. I actually liked those books a lot – I still have The Last Olympian to read.. Ahem… anyway.. his version of the Greek Gods was the one that I found slightly annoying. I tried Greek Heroes next and had to put it on hold. I’ll be back, eventually. It’s Rick Riordan’s writing.

      And yes, Unwind… my sister says the others are not as disturbing… But every time I try to pick them up I remember the unwind scene and… find that there is another one that needs to be read first!

      Like

  2. Oh man, sparkling vampires with no fangs! That one was one of my biggest gripes ever.

    Too funny that you have Warm Bodies on here as a bad selection, and I included it on my list as one of the most unique characters. 😀

    Like

    • Right?

      I saw that. I liked R. And was enjoying the book. Till the part he started looking less dead and goes in search of Julie.

      Like

      • LOL, I get that. My husband didn’t like it either. He’s a hardcore Zombie origins fan. So the idea of love healing R, and a cure, he couldn’t swallow it. I ate it up.

        Like

    • I tend to read mainly blockbuster books, as I call them, so, unique characters or themes are rare. Weird things… not so much 😀
      Thanks!

      Like

  3. I recall Percy’s introduction to the Greek gods getting some scathing reviews when it came out because it didn’t have high language. But I guess it might get some readers into mythology who might otherwise not be interested?

    Like

Leave a Reply

