Short and Sweet Review: Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison


30264Dead Witch Walking
by Kim Harrison

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book Synopsis: 

Rachel Morgan lives in a world where a bioengineered virus wiped out most of the world’s human population – exposing the existence of supernatural communities that had long lived alongside humanity. It’s her job as a white witch working for Inderland Security to protect the humans from things that go bump in the night.

For the last five years Rachel has been tracking down lawbreaking Inderlanders in modern-day Cincinnati, but now she wants to leave and start her own agency. Her only problem: no one quits the I.S.

Marked for death, Rachel will have to fend off fairy assassins and homicidal werewolves armed to the teeth with deadly curses.

Unless she can appease her former employers by exposing the city’s most prominent citizen as a drug lord, she might just be a dead witch walking.

How am I reading this?
Kindle

My friends reviews?
4 and 5 stars.

When am I reading this?

October 2nd

Harpie’s Thoughts:

I first read this one before I joined goodreads. I remembered it having potential, Rachel being annoying and a tad obsessed with Trent, Jenks being amazing, not trusting Nick, and something about tomatoes. And nothing else.

So, when it won the BOM poll, first I grumped about it, then I grumped a bit more, and then I realized that if I ever was to read the series, I would need a re-read and RL issues apart, now was a good time to start. A few one-clicks later, I was a proud owner of a kindle copy.

Anyway, I ended up upping it a star from my first reading.

Does that mean I like Rachel more?

HELL NO.

I still think she’s annoying, her reactions to Ivy are over the top, her obsession with nailing Trent is too much, all the breaking and entering that is done on this book is waaaaaay too easy, and she almost touches the special snowflake status. Almost.

So why the better ranking?

Because I moved past my irritation with some characters and looked at the book. The plot, worldbuilding and writing style are *really good*. And then we have the characters. They as complex and full of flavors as a delicious sachertorte. They have solid backgrounds (mostly hidden). They have layers. They have so much potential and things to learn and for us to discover that make us want more.

It’s a solid first book. Sure, the first 30 -40% makes us wish we could slap Rachel, tag her and put a I’m too dumb to see the big picture hat on her head. Is not an easy book/story to get into. But the trip it promises on the lung run, may be worthy.

Plus Jenks!!! I could read the whole series just for him

Leave a Reply

